Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Power cable through firewall (How to)

  1. #1
    Junior Member Maestro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Quebec City
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Power cable through firewall (How to)

    I talked to some of the mechanics working at my dealer and they told me most people go through the firewall by using a clothes hanger to punch trough the rubber gasket that lets the wiring go to the engine compartment. Here's how I did it...

    I straighten a clothes hanger and from the engine compartment I used it to punch a hole in the rubber gasket:

    Be careful when you punch the gasket, there are 2 layers of rubber, go straight trough the first one and then when it gets to the second layer of rubber get it away from the cable harness so you don't risk scraping the car wires!!!

    Name:  Going-through-firewall-1.jpg
Views: 245
Size:  58.9 KB
    Name:  Going-through-firewall-2.jpg
Views: 213
Size:  74.0 KB

    Here's a photo of what it looks like from inside the car, driver side under the dash:
    Name:  Going-through-firewall-3.jpg
Views: 216
Size:  54.9 KB

    Then I used some duck tape to attach the power wire to the clothes hagner (about 3 to 4 inches of cable so its sturdy enough to go through the rubber gasket):
    Name:  Going-through-firewall-4.jpg
Views: 207
Size:  48.7 KB
    Name:  Going-through-firewall-5.jpg
Views: 222
Size:  56.3 KB

    Then I pulled on the clothes hanger from the inside, carefully because you don't wanna pull the gasket away from the hole in the firewall:
    Name:  Going-through-firewall-6.jpg
Views: 231
Size:  52.7 KB

    I used a Schosche AMP kit rated for 160 watts from Walmart and its got a 12 gauge power wire.. as you can see it fairly big with the tape holding it to the clothes hanger so you gotta be _very_ careful when you pull it trough the rubber gasket! :
    Name:  Going-through-firewall-7.jpg
Views: 224
Size:  74.7 KB

    Netx, I'll be posting some photos and a how to to get all the wires to the back of the car and connecting the head unit to the sub.


    Last edited by Maestro; 06-17-2018 at 02:17 PM.

  2. #2
    Junior Member Maestro's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Location
    Quebec City
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
    Here's the Scosche amp wiring kit I used:

    Scosche model KPA12FA

    https://www.walmart.ca/en/ip/scosche.../6000001836228


    Name:  scosche-amp-wiring-kit.jpg
Views: 212
Size:  95.5 KB

    I also bought a Scosche 125 watts sub from Walmart.. yeah yeah, its not a very high power super hifi sub but its enough for me considering the whole kit cost under $200... (can't find it on the Walmart web site anymore)... You can find it on the interweb easily...

  3. #3
    Senior Member MrMicra2015's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    Vancouver BC
    Posts
    380
    Thanks
    72
    Thanked 52 Times in 39 Posts
    there is another way that does not go throught the main wire harness, there is an unused "bung" on top of the the driver side fender visible from the wheel well that goes into the interior, there is a short thread about it somewhere on the forum...and a pictue ..it was found by 514Xave..good writeup though, and another option!!


    http://micra-forum.com/attachment.ph...7&d=1515083046

    http://micra-forum.com/attachment.ph...8&d=1515083179


    Last edited by MrMicra2015; 06-18-2018 at 03:24 PM.
    2015 Micra S (manual)
    no A/C /no power options
    Feb 2015 build
    9,999 purchase price + tax..no additional 1600$ because it was a 2015 purchased in 2016
    so receipt says $8,399....+1600 .... so they look good i guess...for a brand new car!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •