Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Micra stalled on the highway, low RPMs.

Thanks

Exclamation Micra stalled on the highway, low RPMs.

Hello everyone,

I stumbled upon this forum after trying to look up other issues people have been having with their Micra. I have yet to see anyone who's had this issue yet so I figured I would post here and find out if I'm the only one.

I bought my 2015 Nissan Micra SV in October 2014. I have about 34,000 KM on it. Being my first car, I was pretty darn excited. I work as a visiting nurse so I see clients in their homes and provide care for them. Knowing this, you can understand how important a reliable car is to me.

Today I was on the highway and my car just... stalled. (My car is automatic, so you can see why this was confusing to me.) I was in stop and go traffic. I had to slow the car down, put it in park, restart the engine and be on my merry way. (Side note: a couple weeks ago I noticed my RPMs were below 1000. I didn't pay much mind to it.) I looked at my RPMs when I'd restarted the car and they were just skimming between 1000 and 500. As I made my way on the highway, I started feeling jerking motions when I took my foot off the accelerator. Then as I was making my way to my next client, my engine light went on.

Has anyone else experienced this? I've taken it to my local Nissan dealership and can keep you all posted for those who want to know about it.

My fear is dead. Ambition drove the hearse.

2. The Following User Says Thank You to astroz0mbies For This Useful Post:

micrapolis (09-02-2015)

Thanks
    Sorry to hear. Don't fear low RPM though. My car idle at about 650-680 RPM.

I'll let others chime in, somehow my first guess would be fuel. Mixture or not enough pedal?

click to view fuel log View my fuel log 2015 Micra S manual: 7.7 L/100 km ... 36.6 mpg (Imp) ... 13.0 km/L ... 30.5 mpg (US) ...

Thanks
    Mine is at 650 ish as well at idle. Around 800-900 with the a/c on.