Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Just added new head unit.

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    42
    Garage empty: add car
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
    That looks great!

    Where will you place your amp?



  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    North Vancouver BC
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts
    how/from where and through/ will you run the power wire for the AMP ?
    2015 Micra S (manual)
    no A/C /no power options
    Feb 2015 build

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Micra Guy View Post
    That looks great!

    Where will you place your amp?

    I plan to build a box like this that fits in the trunk.

    This is just a rough mock up i did on sketchup. The top piece i will cut larger then bottom and cut it to follow the curvatures and angles of the trunk. The top of the box will be flush with top of the trunk lip to the outside, if that makes any sense.

    i want to figure a way to put the factory carpet piece back over the sub box to give a stealth look but also retain the trunk for groceries.


    Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  86.8 KB

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MrMicra2015 View Post
    how/from where and through/ will you run the power wire for the AMP ?
    From my limited car audio experience, there is always a rubber grommet in the firewall under the dash where i can pass a power wire through.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Just picked these up, tempted to put them in but will wait till i receive the rest of the system and some sound deadening.


    Name:  20171105_235734.jpg
Views: 48
Size:  92.4 KB

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    North Vancouver BC
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts
    [QUOTE=jordan2110;20614]From my limited car audio experience, there is always a rubber grommet in the firewall under the dash where i can pass a power wire through.[/QUOTE

    there is not........
    2015 Micra S (manual)
    no A/C /no power options
    Feb 2015 build

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    North Vancouver BC
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jordan2110 View Post
    I plan to build a box like this that fits in the trunk.

    This is just a rough mock up i did on sketchup. The top piece i will cut larger then bottom and cut it to follow the curvatures and angles of the trunk. The top of the box will be flush with top of the trunk lip to the outside, if that makes any sense.

    i want to figure a way to put the factory carpet piece back over the sub box to give a stealth look but also retain the trunk for groceries.


    Name:  Untitled.jpg
Views: 49
Size:  86.8 KB
    the amp COULD overhead, catch fire and cook the groceries (worst case) possibly only the icecream will melt with no fire
    2015 Micra S (manual)
    no A/C /no power options
    Feb 2015 build

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MrMicra2015 View Post
    the amp COULD overhead, catch fire and cook the groceries (worst case) possibly only the icecream will melt with no fire
    Digital amp produces minimal heat also i will have holes in around where the amp sits and on the outside edges of the box. I dont think the factory mat will sit directly onto the sub/amp box just because the sub sits proud just a little bit. This is all just primilary ideas im tossing about, we don't have much room to play with in the back.

    I could go crazy and start adding computer fans and the whole lot but i dont have time and patience for that.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    North Vancouver BC
    Posts
    120
    Thanks
    13
    Thanked 24 Times in 14 Posts

    Smile

    What is the brand/part number of the deck trim install kit you used ?

    what did you ground the deck to (was it easy to ground it? is there a stud/bolt easily accesible when you are installing?


    if you do take the deck out pictures would be great.

    would also LOVE to know how you eventually run AMP POWER wire through firewall?


    2015 Micra S (manual)
    no A/C /no power options
    Feb 2015 build

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •